What is a Quasar?

Bright Starlike Object

The mysterious quasars (KWAY sahrs) are intensely bright, star like objects on the edge of the universe.  One of the big mysteries about the quasars is what they are.  Not stars and not galaxies (groups of stars), quasars have baffled scientists since they were discovered in the early 1960s.

A quasar is many times brighter than an entire galaxy and a strong emitter of radio waves.  When first discovered, scientists called them quasi-sellers, meaning “somewhat star like” radio sources.

The  name was later shortened to “quasar.”  One thought is that a quasar is a kind of super atomic furnace, too hot to be solid.  It is a huge ball of gases that glow with a brilliant light and sent out strong radio signals.  A typical quasar may be millions of times bigger and brighter that the sun.  Quasars are so far from the earth that they can only be seen through the largest telescope. – Dick Rogers

 

 

 

11 Comments

  1. askpari

    Hello Mr. Tom,
    You have commented on my this blog Quasar. I don’t know what made you got angry with that site. But any way thank you for your comment and feelings about it. Do visit again. Thank you.

  2. askpari

    You coment on my site as the shittest. Does this site hurt you? If you have good comments better. If you don’t have, then dont bother to read this site. You are not force to read my site …OK? Anyway, enjoy your reading with other sites. Good luck.

  3. askpari

    stop saying bad words on my site. if you dont like that…just dont visit…ok Tom? Have a good day for u.

  4. askpari

    If you dont want my blog its fine with me. My blog is only for the people who need some information…Thank you for visiting…At least you read my blog. I know you want to do the kind of my blog. Sorry for that stranger. Your bad words are not welcome to my blog. I dont force you to read my blog…

    And by the way, eat your words out…..It’s better for you…. Smile … God loves you! 🙂

  5. I simply want to say I am just newbie to blogging and truly enjoyed you’re page. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You actually have outstanding articles and reviews. Cheers for sharing your web page.

  6. what a materpeace u have going on here

  7. Hey there. Sorry to hassle you but I happened to run across your weblog and discovered you are using the exact same theme as me. The only problem is on my blog, I’m battling to get the style and design looking like yours. Would you mind e-mailing me at: Burgert8069@gmail.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I’ve bookmarked your web-site: https://askpari.wordpress.com/2009/02/14/what-is-a-quasar/ and will certainly be visiting often. Thank you!

  8. I found something like this elsewhere and really liked. Some more of this please! Thanks

Leave a Reply

