How does sugar cane grow?

Giant Grass

Much of the sugar we eat comes from the sugary juices of the sugar cane plant which grows in Hawaii, Puerto Rico and other warm, moist lands.

Sugar  cane is really a giant grass that looks much like corn.

To grow sugar cane, workers plant short pieces of the stalk in the ground and cover them with earth.  In a short time, new stalks grow from the joints of the old cane.  Some nine months to two years will pass before the cane ripens, reaching 15 or more feet in height.

The stalks grow so closely together that the fields resemble a green jungle.  The plants are often so tangled that only workers armed with long cane knives, or machetes, can out the cane.  But in some places, machines are used.

Later, when the cane arrives at the sugar mill, the stalks will be crushed and the sweet juice squeezed out in the first of the many steps needed in the making of cane sugar. – Dick Rogers

 

52 Comments

  1. URL

    I’d ought to seek advice from you here. Which is not something I do! I enjoy reading an write-up that could make folks feel. Also, several thanks permitting me to comment! 774820

  2. Amazing! I’m genuinely enjoying the style and design of your blog. Are you using a custom made template or is this freely available to all individuals? If you don’t want to say the name of it out in the public, please email me at: Gearan293@gmail.com. I’d really enjoy to get my hands on this template! Thank you.

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a whole lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I believe which you could do with several pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this really is wonderful weblog. A fantastic read. Ill undoubtedly be back. 885036

  4. This internet site is genuinely a walk-through for all with the data you wanted about it and didnt know who to question. Glimpse here, and you will surely discover it. 991181

  5. undoubtedly like your internet web site but you want to check the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling difficulties and I locate it really troublesome to tell the truth nevertheless I will undoubtedly come back once more. 549212

  6. I like this site so much, saved to favorites . 343487

  7. I want to start a blog but would like to own the domain. Any ideas how to go about this?. 26178

  8. A really really intriguing post! Ill try to track that continues here! Thank you. 978815

  9. I genuinely like this weblog internet site, will surely come back once again. Make confident you carry on creating quality content material articles. 785736

  10. I just put the link of your blog on my Facebook Wall. very nice blog indeed.,-, 874506

  11. Hey there. I want to to inquire somethingis this a wordpress weblog as we are thinking about shifting more than to WP. Also did you make this theme on your personal? Thanks. 345879

  12. Excellent post man, maintain the good function, just shared this with my friendz 185557

  13. A person essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I may state. That will be the extremely initial time I frequented your web site page and up to now? I amazed with the research you created to create this specific publish incredible. Fantastic activity! 640195

  14. amazing post, quite informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You ought to continue your writing. Im confident, youve a terrific readers base already! 617382

  15. I wish I had a dime for every bad write-up Ive read lately. I also wish other writers had your talent and style. Thank you. 724255

  16. Youve really written a very good quality article here. Thank you very much 655439

  17. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better? 429993

  18. Thanks for this superb. I was wondering whether you were preparing of writing related posts to this 1. .Maintain up the superb articles! 626951

  19. Good V I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. 462863

  20. Greetings! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thank you so much! 305625

  21. I adore your wp web template, wherever would you obtain it through? 379025

  22. I genuinely thankful to uncover this internet site on bing, just what I was seeking for : D too bookmarked . 733799

  23. Some genuinely very good articles on this internet site , thankyou for contribution. 513772

  24. I love this info presented and possesses given me some type of resolve forpersistance to succeed i really enjoy seeing, so sustain the excellent work. 768968

  25. You ought to join in a contest for starters with the highest quality blogs online. I will recommend this page! 645059

  26. Looking forward to move into an additional hous?! […]Real estate busines is obtaining much more and much more less protitable, take a look at why[…] 645807

  27. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you need to write more on this matter, it may not be a taboo subject but usually individuals are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers 234888

  28. I will tell your buddies to go to this website. .Thanks for the write-up. 178497

  29. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so considerably about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel which you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but rather of that, this really is amazing weblog. A amazing read. Ill surely be back. 501362

  30. I think one of your advertisements caused my browser to resize, you might want to put that on your blacklist. 94327

  31. I really like your writing style, good information, appreciate it for posting : D. 298202

  32. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It really used to be a leisure account it. Glance complicated to much more delivered agreeable from you! Nevertheless, how can we be in contact? 472113

  33. Some actually select articles on this internet web site , bookmarked . 234562

  34. I truly appreciated this gorgeous weblog. Make confident you maintain up the very good function. Very best Regards . 670653

  35. An intriguing discussion will probably be worth comment. I believe that you can write read much more about this topic, might nicely definitely be a taboo subject but generally folks are inadequate to chat on such topics. To a higher. Cheers 54945

  36. Nice post. I learn something a lot more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice a bit something from their store. Id prefer to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you dont mind. Natually Ill give you a link on your internet weblog. Thanks for sharing. 355619

  37. As soon as I discovered this internet web site I went on reddit to share some with the enjoy with them. 994634

  38. It is difficult to get knowledgeable folks on this subject, but the truth is be understood as what happens you are preaching about! Thanks 33357

  39. Wonderful internet site you got here! Yoo man wonderful reads, post some far more! Im gon come back so greater have updated 519048

  40. I really like reading by way of and I believe this internet site got some genuinely utilitarian stuff on it! . 962685

  41. Hello. Cool article. Theres an issue with the website in internet explorer, and you might want to test this The browser is the marketplace chief and a large element of other folks will miss your great writing due to this problem. 174324

  42. I adore foregathering useful info, this post has got me even more info! . 15306

  43. Very nice design and style and fantastic subject matter, very little else we want : D. 90127

  44. Hello! I basically want to make a enormous thumbs up with the amazing information youve here during this post. We are returning to your weblog for additional soon. 707652

  45. Spot ill carry on with this write-up, I truly believe this website requirements an excellent deal much more consideration. Ill oftimes be once much more to see far much more, numerous thanks that info. 923309

  46. You ought to join in a contest for starters with the highest quality blogs online. I will recommend this page! 694637

  47. Superb post. I was checking constantly this weblog and Im impressed! Really beneficial details specially the last part I care for such details significantly. I was seeking this certain details for a long time. Thank you and finest of luck. 115878

  48. I recognize there exists a terrific deal of spam on this weblog internet site. Do you need to have support cleaning them up? I can support among courses! 470160

  49. appreciate the effort you put into obtaining us this info 715634

  50. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out any person with some distinctive thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web website is one thing thats required on the net, someone with a bit of originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the internet! 324520

  51. I believe other website proprietors ought to take this web site as an model, extremely clean and fantastic user friendly style and design, as nicely as the content. Youre an expert in this topic! 728771

  52. You got a very good website, Gladiola I discovered it through yahoo. 654702

Leave a Reply

