How do lemon grow?

Sour Fruit

A lemon tree produces lemons almost continuously the year round in the right climate.

A lemon tree is a small evergreen with spreading branches that are covered with short, sharp spines.  The lemon tree blooms and produces lemons almost continuously in the right climate.  A lemons tree may produce as many as 3,000 lemons each year.

Lemons must be picked by hand.  The best lemons are picked while they are still green.

The picker carries a small metal ring 2 ¼ inches in diameter to test the size of the lemon.  If it slips easily through the ring it is too small to be picked, and is left on the tree until it grows larger.

The green lemons are spread out in a cool storage room where they ripen slowly and their green skins turn golden yellow.

The juice of lemon is usually quite tart, but some kinds of lemon have sweet juice.  The peel of a lemon contains a fragrant oil that is useful in flavoring and in the making of perfume.

The rind can be cooked with sugar to make candied lemon peel.  And what seems more refreshing than a glass of ice-cold lemonade on a hot day? – Dick Rogers

 

5 Comments

  1. I bet you wish george bush was still president now

    • askpari

      What made you think that I wish that George Bush still be the US President. Sorry for your wrong thoughts. I am from the Philippines and I’m concern with the Philippine President. OK? Keep on visiting my blog! 🙂

  2. I just want to tell you that I am very new to blogging and seriously loved this website. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You actually come with terrific writings. With thanks for sharing your website page.

  3. Howdy! I just found your website: How do lemon grow? Knowledge Power when I was exploring digg.com. It looks as though someone loved your website so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll unquestionably be returning here more often.

  4. My youngsters love your web site and so do I. Im a large kid at heart.

Leave a Reply

