What is the rock of gibraltar?

Rock Fortress

The rock of Gibraltar is a big “rock” fortress that guards the gateway to the Mediterranean.

The Rock of Gibraltar is a high, rocky point of land on the southern coast of Spain.

“The Rock,” as it is commonly called, is only about 8 miles long and less than a mile wide.  It guards the narrow passage between the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea, and, for this reason, is often called the “key” to the Mediterranean.

Long ago, Britain made the Rock into a great fortress.  It is so well protected that “as safe as the Rock of Gibraltar” is a common saying.

Tailless monkeys call Barbary apes live on Gibraltar.  A legend tells that the British will never lose Gibraltar as long as the monkeys remain there.

In ancient times the Rock of Gibraltar was called one of the two Pillars of Hercules. The second “pillar” stood across the Strait of Gibraltar on the African shore.  The pillars marked the limits of the familiar world, through which sailors dared not sail into the unknown. – Dick Rogers

24 Comments

  1. One of the more exciting things about the rock is its partly hollow interior. I used to live there and explore both its caves and man-made tunnels.

  2. thanks ur parents for having you

    • askpari

      THANK YOU … I REALLY AM THANKFUL TO THEM AND TO YOU ALSO FOR APPRECIATING MY BLOG. KEEP ON COMMENTING. THANKS AGAIN! 🙂

  3. Appreciate the recommendation! Let me try it out.

    • askpari

      THANK YOU … 🙂

  4. I simply want to say I’m new to blogging and seriously loved your web-site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You certainly have terrific posts. Regards for sharing your website page.

  5. I don’t usually comment but I gotta tell thank you for the post on this great one :D.

  6. I have learned some considerations through your site post. One other stuff I would like to say is that there are plenty of games in the marketplace designed in particular for toddler age youngsters. They include things like pattern recognition, colors, wildlife, and forms. These normally focus on familiarization instead of memorization. This will keep children occupied without feeling like they are studying. Thanks

  7. Perfectly indited content material , thanks for selective details . 246992

  8. Gday. I’m sorry to trouble you but I ran across your blog and discovered you happen to be using the exact same theme as me. The only problem is on my website, I’m battling to get the design and style looking like yours. Would you mind contacting me at: Gartland1414@gmail.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I’ve bookmarked your web site: https://askpari.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/what-is-the-rock-of-gibraltar/ and will certainly be visiting frequently. Many thanks!

  9. There are some attention-grabbing closing dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  10. An attention-grabbing dialogue is value comment. I feel that you should write extra on this subject, it may not be a taboo subject however usually individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  11. The subsequent time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I mean, I know it was my option to read, but I truly thought youd have something fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you might repair if you happen to werent too busy searching for attention.

  12. askpari

    Thanks for your comment. Keep on visiting my blog, your comments and suggestions are very welcome. Thanks again! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Der Splog!
  2. My Homepage
  3. araliophyllum actinocrinus bebaron
  4. MassageFee - Treat your triggerpoints
  5. Trigger Point Treatment – Trigger Point Therapy with Massagefee.com
  6. Óbuda
  7. windows 8 news
  8. credit personnel sans justificatif
  9. water damage michigan, water damage mi, flood repair michigan, flood repair mi, water damage livonia, water damage westland, water damage novi, water damage northville, water damage west bloomfield, water damage farmington hills
  10. click to read more

Leave a Reply

