Why is Kentucky called the Bluegrass State?

The Bluegrass State

Kentucky sets its nickname from the bluish tinted grass that grows in the State.

“The Bluegrass State” is a popular nickname for the state of Kentucky.

The name comes from the unusual bluish-stemmed grass with its dusty blue blossoms that grows in many parts of the state.

The state’s name probably comes from the Indian word “Kentake,” meaning “meadowland” or “prairie.”

Kentucky bluegrass is excellent food for horses, and many famous race horses have been raised in the bluegrass pastures around Lexington.

The Kentucky Darby, the most famous US horse race, is run each May at Churchill Downs in Louisville.

But Kentucky is more than a place to raise and run horses.  Among Kentucky’s natural wonders is Mammoth Cave.  It is one of the largest caves on earth.

The nation’s gold reserves are stored in underground vaults at Fort Knox.

And at Abraham Lincoln National Historic Site, Hodgenville, Ky., on may see a log cabin believed to be the one in which Lincoln was born. – Dick Rogers

 

2 Comments

  1. Do you mind if I quote a several of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your site: https://askpari.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/why-is-kentucky-called-the-bluegrass-state/. I will aslo be certain to give you the appropriate anchortext hyperlink using your blog title: Why is Kentucky called the Bluegrass State? Knowledge Power. Please make sure to let me know if this is ok with you. Thank you

  2. Fine day I am so glad I found your web site,
    I actually found you by mistake, while I was looking on Aol for
    something else, Regardless I am here now and would such as to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog I also love that the theme/design, I dont have time to browse it all at that the moment on the other hand I have bookmarked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    great deal more, Please do keep up that the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

