What Is a snapping turtle?

Big Snapper

The common snapping turtle of North America is a large bad tempered turtle having a powerful jaws which snap with great forces.  This tells us how the snapping turtle gets its name.

Snapping turtles live in muddy streams and swampy ponds.  A full-grown “snapper” may weigh 30 pounds and have a shell a foot long.

It may look clumsy, but it can move quickly on land and can make short leaps on its strong legs to snaps its food.

When this turtle is attacked, it snaps with lightning speed, its strong, sharp-edged jaws can inflict dangerous bites.

A close relative of a common snapper is the big alligator snapping turtles that lives in the rivers of the gulf states.  They are the biggest snappers of all.

A big one can weigh 140 pounds or more.  A snapping turtles shell can be 2 feet long and is covered with rows of bumps, much like the skin of a real alligator. – Dick Rogers

 

3 Comments

  1. Dear website admin, your “https://askpari.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/what-is-a-snapping-turtle/” website was exactly what I was searching for but you were not on the first page of search results when I was searching. I bet you could get a lot more traffic if you were ranked higher. I found another website which helped me get my websites on the first page and drove a lot of traffic to me: http://venueseo.com/7-day-free-trial. I am now getting close to 1,000 visitors per day after subscribing. I hope this helps 🙂

  2. Hello. I’m sorry to trouble you but I ran across your blog website and discovered you happen to be using the exact same theme as me. The only issue is on my site, I’m struggling to get the style and design looking like yours. Would you mind e-mailing me at: Folsom1186@gmail.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your web site: https://askpari.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/what-is-a-snapping-turtle/ and will be visiting often. Many thanks!

  3. I’m new to developing web sites and I was wanting to know if having your site title relevant to your articles and other content really that crucial? I see your title, “What Is a snapping turtle? Knowledge Power ” does appear to be spot on with what your blog is about yet, I prefer to keep my title less content descriptive and based more around site branding. Would you think this is a good idea or bad idea? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

